## MINUTES OF LOWER ELKHORN NATURAL RESOURCES DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

7:30 p.m. Thursday, March 23, 2023 Lower Elkhorn NRD, 1508 Square Turn Blvd., Norfolk, Nebraska

The Board of Directors Meeting of the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District was called to order by Chairman Roger Gustafson on Thursday, March 23, 2023, at the Lower Elkhorn NRD, 1508 Square Turn Blvd., Norfolk, Nebraska. Chairman Gustafson informed the Board and those attending of the Publication of Meeting Notice in the Norfolk Daily News on March 16, 2023.

Roll call was taken by Administrative Assistant Patty Martens with 15 of 15 Directors present. Present: Jerry Allemann, James Aschoff, Mark Burenheide, Scott Clausen, Michael Fleer, Mark Hall, Chad Korth, Kris Loberg, Gary Loftis, Jay Reikofski, Matt Steffen, Melissa Temple, Anthony Wisnieski, Rod Zohner, Roger Gustafson. Absent: None.

Motion was made by Korth and seconded by Hall <u>to adopt the agenda</u>. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Temple, Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

The reading and/or action on the minutes of the February 23, 2023 Board of Directors meeting was next on the agenda. Motion was made by Reikofski and seconded by Wisnieski that the minutes of the February 23, 2023 Board of Directors meeting be approved. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Temple, Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

The Finance Subcommittee report was given by Anthony Wisnieski. Motion was made by Wisnieski and seconded by Hall <u>to approve income in the amount of \$248,149.46 and expenses in the amount of \$340,540.59 for the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District</u>. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Temple, Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Wisnieski and seconded by Steffen to approve income in the amount of \$84,100.20 and expenses in the amount of \$38,372.92 for the Logan East Rural Water System as printed and distributed. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Temple, Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Wisnieski and seconded by Loberg to approve income in the amount of \$6,136.51 and expenses in the amount of \$6,252.03 for the Wau-Col Regional Water System. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Temple, Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

The conservation cost share report was given by Project Manager Curt Becker. A copy of the report is attached to the official minutes.

The Nebraska Association of Resources Districts report was given by Mark Hall. Mark spoke of the March 6 NARD quarterly meeting.

The Nebraska Natural Resources Commission report was not given.

The Natural Resources Conservation Service report was given by District Conservationist Robin Sutherland. A copy of the report is attached to the official minutes.

Gary Loftis reported on the Nebraska Loess Hills RC&D. A copy of the Loess Hills RC&D report is attached to the official minutes.

The Bazile Groundwater Management Area was referenced in Dropbox as Lisa Lauver was not in attendance. A report is attached to the official minutes.

The Administrative Report was given by General Manager Mike Sousek. A copy is attached to the official minutes.

Motion was made by Loftis and seconded by Korth <u>to approve the Logan East Rural</u> <u>Water System recommendation - to begin the process of drilling a 4 inch test well at a site</u> <u>approved by University of Nebraska Hydrogeologist, Sue Lackey.</u> Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Temple, Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Loftis and seconded by Fleer <u>to accept the Logan East Rural Water System Advisory Committee minutes of March 20, 2023</u>. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Temple, Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

The Information, Planning, Programs, Projects, Equipment & Legislation Committee of the Whole report was given by Matt Steffen.

Motion was made by Lofts and seconded by Korth <u>to instruct staff to negotiate a contract</u> with Houston Engineering to place the alternative flood mitigation project that was developed in unison with Madison County into the WFPO Plan and complete the WFPO Plan per NRCS guidelines.

Discussion followed. Director Fleer motioned to amend with Hall giving a second. Fleer withdrew his amendment after more discussion. No roll call was taken.

The board then voted on the original motion. Aye: Burenheide, Fleer, Hall, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Temple, Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: Alleman, Aschoff, Clausen. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Steffen and seconded by Korth <u>to instruct Staff to prepare and issue Cease and Desist order to owners of irrigation wells who have failed to submit flow meter reports, which were due on December 1, 2022.</u> Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Temple, Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 10:02 p.m.

I, the undersigned Secretary of the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of the proceedings had and done by the Board of Directors on March 23, 2023 that all of the subjects included in the foregoing proceedings were contained in the agenda for at least twenty-four hours prior to said meeting, the minutes of the Chairman and the Board were in written form and available for public inspection within ten working days and prior to the next convened meeting of said body, that all news media requesting notification of the time and place of said meeting and the subjects to be discussed at said meeting.

Jay Reikofski, Secretary

Others Present: Bryan Daum, Curtis Borchers, Pat French, Bob Baker, Keith Dittrich, Johanna Threm, Shane Weidner, Matt Rudloff, James Geyer, and Jake Wemhoff