## MINUTES OF LOWER ELKHORN NATURAL RESOURCES DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

7:30 p.m. Thursday, February 24, 2022 Lower Elkhorn NRD, 1508 Square Turn Blvd., Norfolk, Nebraska

The Board of Directors Meeting of the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District was called to order by Chairman Mark Hall on Thursday, February 24, 2022, at the Lower Elkhorn NRD, 1508 Square Turn Blvd, Norfolk, Nebraska. Chairman Mark Hall informed the Board and those attending of the Publication of Meeting Notice in the Norfolk Daily News on February 16, 2022.

Roll call was taken by Administrative Assistant Patty Martens with 14 of 15 Directors present. Present: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hansen, Janke, Korth, Loftis, Noonan, Reikofski, Schultz, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner, Hall. Absent: McHenry.

Motion was made by Zohner and seconded by Wisnieski <u>to excuse the absence of Scott</u> <u>McHenry</u>. Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hansen, Janke, Korth, Loftis, Noonan, Reikofski, Schultz, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner, Hall. Nay: None. Absent: McHenry.

Motion was made by Hansen and seconded by Schultz <u>to adopt the agenda</u>. Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hansen, Janke, Korth, Loftis, Noonan, Reikofski, Schultz, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner, Hall. Nay: None. Absent: McHenry.

The reading and/or action on the minutes of the January 27, 2022 Board of Directors meeting was next on the agenda. Motion was made by Allemann and seconded by Clausen *that the minutes of the January 27, 2022 Board of Directors meeting be approved*. Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hansen, Janke, Korth, Loftis, Noonan, Reikofski, Schultz, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner, Hall. Nay: None. Absent: McHenry.

The Finance Subcommittee report was given by Anthony Wisnieski. Motion was made by Wisnieski and seconded by Noonan <u>to approve income in the amount of \$301,433.93 and expenses in the amount of \$306,369.05 for the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District</u>. Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hansen, Janke, Korth, Loftis, Noonan, Reikofski, Schultz, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner, Hall. Nay: None. Absent: McHenry.

Motion was made by Wisnieski and seconded by Gustafson <u>to approve income in the</u> <u>amount of \$81,433.67 and expenses in the amount of \$38,670.95 for the Logan East Rural Water System as printed and distributed</u>. Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hansen, Janke, Korth, Loftis, Noonan, Reikofski, Schultz, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner, Hall. Nay: None. Absent: McHenry.

Motion was made by Wisnieski and seconded by Hansen <u>to approve income in the</u> <u>amount of \$6,706.37 and expenses in the amount of \$4,430.66 for the Wau-Col Regional Water System</u>. Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hansen, Janke, Korth, Loftis, Noonan, Reikofski, Schultz, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner, Hall. Nay: None. Absent: McHenry.

The conservation cost share report was given by Project Manager Curt Becker. A copy of the report is attached to the official minutes.

There was nothing to report from the Nebraska Association of Resources Districts.

The Natural Resources Commission report was referenced in Dropbox by General Manager Mike Sousek. A copy of the report is attached to the official minutes.

The Natural Resources Conservation Service report was given by Robin Sutherland. A copy of the report is attached to the official minutes.

Gary Loftis reported on the Nebraska Loess Hills RC&D. Loftis reported that a grant has been approved by the NDEE to hold (3) Household Hazardous Waste Collections in Burt, Cuming, and Dakota counties. He also reported that Papio-Missouri River NRD was granted a scrap tire grant. The event will be held at a future date in Arlington.

Whitney Gappa reported on the Bazile Groundwater Management Area. A report is attached to the official minutes.

The Administrative Report was given by General Manager Mike Sousek. A copy is attached to the official minutes.

Motion was made by Loftis and seconded by Gustafson <u>to accept the Logan East Rural Water System Advisory Committee Minutes of February 14, 2022</u>. Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hansen, Janke, Korth, Loftis, Noonan, Reikofski, Schultz, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner, Hall. Nay: None. Absent: McHenry.

The Information, Planning, Programs, Projects, Equipment & Legislation Committee of the Whole report was given by Roger Gustafson.

Motion was made by Gustafson and seconded by Korth <u>to authorize the General</u>

<u>Manager to sign the contract amendment as presented with JEO Consulting Group for the Battle</u>

<u>Creek Watershed Improvement Project Work Plan – Environmental Assessment, which includes</u>

<u>an increase of \$149,500 for added project management, public involvement, wetland delineation</u>

<u>work, cultural resources work, and economic evaluation</u> Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson,

Hansen, Janke, Korth, Loftis, Noonan, Reikofski, Schultz, Steffen, Wisnieski, Hall. Nay: Zohner.

Absent: McHenry.

Motion was made by Gustafson and seconded by Korth <u>to approve the 2021 Crop</u> <u>Damage Agreement on the Theodore H. Krienke Sr. and Opal F. Krienke easement, Willow Creek Project, and approve payment in the amount of \$3,194.97</u>. Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hansen, Janke, Korth, Loftis, Noonan, Reikofski, Schultz, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner, Hall. Nay: None. Absent: McHenry.

Meeting adjourned at 10:25 p.m.

I, the undersigned Secretary of the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of the proceedings had and done by the Board of Directors on February 24, 2022 that all of the subjects included in the foregoing proceedings were contained in the agenda for at least twenty-four hours prior to said meeting, the minutes of the Chairman and the Board were in written form and available for public inspection within ten working days and prior to the next convened meeting of said body, that all news media requesting notification of the time and place of said meeting and the subjects to be discussed at said meeting.

Jerry Allemann, Secretary

Others Present:

Jim Kaufman

**Bruce Grant** 

James Geyer

Jeremy Grant

John Dittrich

**Bob Praeuner** 

Matt Johnson

Nick Schaffer

**Curtis Borchers** 

Brandon Throckmoltan

Leon Becker

Mark Westerman

Woodrow Dotson

Travis Belina

Allan Belina

Ned Volk