MINUTES OF LOWER ELKHORN NATURAL RESOURCES DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

7:30 p.m., Thursday, January 23, 2020 Lower Elkhorn NRD 1508 Square Turn Blvd, Norfolk, Nebraska

The Board of Directors Meeting of the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District was called to order by Chairman Gary Loftis on Thursday, January 23, 2020 at the Lower Elkhorn NRD, 1508 Square Turn Blvd, Norfolk, Nebraska. Chairman Loftis informed the Board and those attending of the Publication of Meeting Notice in the Norfolk Daily News on January 16, 2020 and the Nebraska Open Meetings Act information posted.

Roll call was taken by Administrative Supervisor Vickie DeJong with 13 of 15 Directors present. Present: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hall, Hansen, Huntley, Janke, Kathol, McHenry, Schultz, Steffen, Zimmerman, Loftis. Absent: Noonan. Absent, Present Later: Korth.

Motion was made by Schultz and seconded by Huntley <u>to excuse the absence of Bob Noonan</u>. Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hall, Hansen, Huntley, Janke, Kathol, McHenry, Schultz, Steffen, Zimmerman, Loftis. Nay: None. Absent: Noonan, Korth. Motion Carried.

Motion was made by Hansen and seconded by Schultz <u>to move the Northeast Nebraska Growing Together presentation up and adopt the remaining agenda</u>. Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hall, Hansen, Huntley, Janke, Kathol, McHenry, Schultz, Steffen, Zimmerman, Loftis. Nay: None. Absent: Noonan, Korth. Motion Carried.

The reading and/or action on the minutes of the December 19, 2019 Board of Directors meeting was next on the agenda. Motion was made by Steffen and seconded by McHenry <u>that the minutes of the December 19, 2019 Board of Directors meeting be approved</u>. Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hall, Hansen, Huntley, Janke, Kathol, McHenry, Schultz, Steffen, Zimmerman, Loftis. Nay: None. Absent: Noonan, Korth. Motion Carried.

The Finance Subcommittee report was given by Treasurer Dave Kathol. Motion was made by Kathol and seconded by Huntley <u>to approve income in the amount of \$570,531.00 and expenses in the amount of \$346,270.10</u>. Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hall, Hansen, Huntley, Janke, Kathol, McHenry, Schultz, Steffen, Zimmerman, Loftis. Nay: None. Absent: Noonan, Korth. Motion Carried.

Motion was made by Kathol and seconded by Huntley <u>to approve income in the amount of</u> <u>\$73,650.16 and expenses in the amount of \$55,150.10 for the Logan East Rural Water System as printed and distributed</u>. Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hall, Hansen, Huntley, Janke, Kathol, McHenry, Schultz, Steffen, Zimmerman, Loftis. Nay: None. Absent: Noonan, Korth. Motion Carried.

Motion was made by Kathol and seconded by Hansen <u>to approve income in the amount of</u> \$6,681.25 and expenses in the amount of \$4,725.92 for the Wau-Col Regional Water System. Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hall, Hansen, Huntley, Janke, Kathol, McHenry, Schultz, Steffen, Zimmerman, Loftis. Nay: None. Absent: Noonan, Korth. Motion Carried.

A copy of the conservation cost share report is attached to the official minutes.

A presentation was given by Mike Flood and Norfolk Mayor Josh Moening on the Northeast Nebraska Growing Together initiative.

The Nebraska Association of Resources Districts report was given by Scott McHenry. The upcoming NARD Legislative Conference will be held on January 28 and 29 in Lincoln.

The Nebraska Natural Resources Commission report was not given but attached to the official minutes is the summary of the Water Sustainability Grant applications funded.

The Natural Resources Conservation Service report is attached to the official minutes.

Bob Huntley reported on the Northeast Nebraska RC&D and Gary Loftis reported on the Loess Hills RC&D. (Copy attached to official minutes.)

The Bazile Groundwater Management Area report is attached to the official minutes.

The Administrative Report was given by General Manager Mike Sousek. (Copy attached to the official minutes.)

The Logan East Rural Water System Advisory Committee report was given by Roger Gustafson. Motion was made by Gustafson and seconded by Clausen to reappoint Roger Fehrer, Don Johnson and Larry Wulf to an additional three-year term on the Logan East Rural Water System Advisory Committee. Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hall, Hansen, Huntley, Janke, Kathol, Korth, McHenry, Schultz, Steffen, Zimmerman, Loftis. Nay: None. Absent: Noonan. Motion Carried.

Motion was made by Gustafson and seconded by McHenry to accept the Logan East Rural Water System Advisory Committee minutes of January 13, 2020. Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hall, Hansen, Huntley, Janke, Kathol, Korth, McHenry, Schultz, Steffen, Zimmerman, Loftis. Nay: None. Absent: Noonan. Motion Carried.

The Information, Planning, Programs, Projects, Equipment & Legislation Committee of the Whole report was given by Kurt Janke. Motion was made by Janke and seconded by Schultz <u>to approve</u> <u>the 2019 Crop Damage Agreement on the Theodore H. Krienke Sr. and Opal F. Krienke – Willow Creek Project easement and approve a payment in the amount of \$5,382.36</u>. Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hall, Hansen, Huntley, Janke, Kathol, Korth, McHenry, Schultz, Steffen, Zimmerman, Loftis. Nay: None. Absent: Noonan. Motion Carried.

Motion was made by Janke and seconded by Schultz to direct District staff to send non-compliance notification letters to well owners who have not submitted groundwater use reports (flow meter readings) for all active high-capacity wells as required by Section 11.11 of the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District Groundwater Management Rules and Regulations for the Enforcement of the Nebraska Groundwater Management and Protection Act. Aye: Allemann, Clausen, Gustafson, Hall, Hansen, Huntley, Janke, Kathol, Korth, McHenry, Schultz, Steffen, Zimmerman, Loftis. Nay: None. Absent: Noonan. Motion Carried.

According to the By-Laws, any officer is limited to one term of two years but is immediately eligible for a different office; however, a Director is eligible for the same office after a two-year absence from that office. The only current officer that has now served a term of two years is Treasurer Dave Kathol. Voting will be held by ballot. Ballots will be held in the headquarters office for 30 days for public review.

Nominated for Treasurer were Mark Hall and Dennis Schultz. After ballots were counted it was announced that Director Dennis Schultz was elected Treasurer for 2020-2021. (Schultz – 9, Hall – 5)

Meeting adjourned at 8:58 p.m.

I, the undersigned Secretary of the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of the proceedings had and done by the Board of Directors on January 23, 2020, that all of the subjects included in the foregoing proceedings were contained in the agenda for at least twenty-four hours prior to said meeting, the minutes of the Chairman and the Board were in written form and available for public inspection within ten working days and prior to the next convened meeting of said body, that all news media requesting notification of the time and place of said meeting and the subjects to be discussed at said meeting.

Matt	Steffen,	Secretary	