MINUTES OF LOWER ELKHORN NATURAL RESOURCES DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

7:30 p.m., Thursday, February 23, 2012 Lifelong Learning Center 601 East Benjamin, Norfolk, Nebraska

The Board of Directors Meeting of the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District was called to order by Chairman Rod Zessin on Thursday, February 23, 2012 at the Lifelong Learning Center, 601 East Benjamin, Norfolk, Nebraska. Chairman Zessin informed the Board and those attending of the Publication of Meeting Notice in the Norfolk Daily News on February 16, 2012 and the Nebraska Open Meetings Act information posted by the entrance door.

Roll call was taken by Administrative Secretary Vickie DeJong with 11 of 15 Directors present. Present: Carlson, Hansen, Huntley, Kluthe, Loftis, Meyer, Peitzmeier, Schultz, Tighe, Wesely, Zessin. Absent: Anderson, Baier, Krueger, Shafer.

Motion was made by Hansen and seconded by Wesely <u>to adopt the agenda</u>. Aye: Carlson, Hansen, Huntley, Kluthe, Loftis, Meyer, Peitzmeier, Schultz, Tighe, Wesely, Zessin. Nay: None. Absent: Anderson, Baier, Krueger, Shafer. MOTION CARRIED.

The reading and/or action on the minutes of the January 26, 2012 Board of Directors meeting was next on the agenda. Motion was made by Loftis and seconded by Kluthe *that the minutes of the January 26, 2012 Board of Directors meeting be approved as distributed*. Aye: Carlson, Hansen, Huntley, Kluthe, Loftis, Meyer, Peitzmeier, Schultz, Tighe, Wesely, Zessin. Nay: None. Absent: Anderson, Baier, Krueger, Shafer. MOTION CARRIED.

The Finance Subcommittee report was given by Subcommittee Vice-Chairman Tim Tighe. Motion was made by Tighe and seconded by Schultz <u>to approve income in the amount of \$211,174.23</u> <u>and expenses in the amount of \$226,682.87 as printed and distributed</u>. Aye: Carlson, Hansen, Huntley, Kluthe, Loftis, Meyer, Peitzmeier, Schultz, Tighe, Wesely, Zessin. Nay: None. Absent: Anderson, Baier, Krueger, Shafer. MOTION CARRIED.

Motion was made by Tighe and seconded by Kluthe <u>to approve income in the amount of</u> \$74,186.88 <u>and expenses in the amount of</u> \$42,718.26 for the <u>Logan East Rural Water System as printed and distributed</u>. Aye: Carlson, Hansen, Huntley, Kluthe, Loftis, Meyer, Peitzmeier, Schultz, Tighe, Wesely, Zessin. Nay: None. Absent: Anderson, Baier, Krueger, Shafer. MOTION CARRIED.

Motion was made by Tighe and seconded by Schultz <u>to approve the income in the amount of</u> <u>\$5,693.35 and expenses in the amount of \$3,9334.67for the Wau-Col Regional Water System as printed and distributed</u>. Aye: Carlson, Hansen, Huntley, Kluthe, Loftis, Meyer, Peitzmeier, Schultz, Tighe, Wesely, Zessin. Nay: None. Absent: Anderson, Baier, Krueger, Shafer. MOTION CARRIED.

The conservation cost share report was given by Assistant Manager Ken Berney.

The Nebraska Association of Resources Districts report was given by Ken Peitzmeier.

No Nebraska Natural Resources Commission report was given due to the absence of Garry Anderson.

The Natural Resources Conservation Service report was given by Robin Sutherland and Sabrina Negus. They reported on personnel, activities, land treatment, programs and upcoming events. (A copy of the report attached to the official minutes.)

The PrairieLand RC&D report was given by Chris Carlson and the Nebraska Loess Hills RC&D report was given by Gary Loftis.

The Administrative Report was given by staff employees.

The Logan East Rural Water System Advisory Committee report was given by Elden Wesely and RWS Advisory Committee Chairman Ron Dierking. Motion was made by Wesely and seconded by Kluthe *to accept the Logan East Rural Water System Advisory Committee minutes of February 13, 2012*. Aye: Carlson, Hansen, Huntley, Kluthe, Loftis, Meyer, Peitzmeier, Schultz, Tighe, Wesely, Zessin. Nay: None. Absent: Anderson, Baier, Krueger, Shafer. MOTION CARRIED.

The Wau-Col Regional Water System Advisory Committee report was given by Joel Hansen. Motion was made by Hansen and seconded by Huntley to extend the Interlocal Agreement between the Village of Wausa and the Lower Elkhorn NRD through December 31, 2012. Aye: Carlson, Hansen, Huntley, Kluthe, Loftis, Meyer, Peitzmeier, Schultz, Tighe, Wesely, Zessin. Nay: None. Absent: Anderson, Baier, Krueger, Shafer. MOTION CARRIED.

Motion was made by Hansen and seconded by Huntley <u>to approve the paint colors proposed by</u> <u>the Village of Wausa board</u>. Aye: Carlson, Hansen, Huntley, Kluthe, Loftis, Meyer, Peitzmeier, Schultz, Tighe, Wesely, Zessin. Nay: None. Absent: Anderson, Baier, Krueger, Shafer. MOTION CARRIED.

Motion was made by Hansen and seconded by Schultz <u>to accept the Wau-Col Regional Water System Advisory Committee minutes of February 15, 2012</u>. Aye: Carlson, Hansen, Huntley, Kluthe, Loftis, Meyer, Peitzmeier, Schultz, Tighe, Wesely, Zessin. Nay: None. Absent: Anderson, Baier, Krueger, Shafer. MOTION CARRIED.

The Information, Planning & Programs Subcommittee report was given by Subcommittee Chairman Danny Kluthe. Motion was made by Kluthe and seconded by Meyer <u>to not participate in the statewide NRD advertising campaign</u>. Aye: Carlson, Hansen, Huntley, Kluthe, Loftis, Meyer, Peitzmeier, Schultz, Tighe, Wesely, Zessin. Nay: None. Absent: Anderson, Baier, Krueger, Shafer. MOTION CARRIED.

The Projects, Equipment & Legislation Subcommittee report was given by Subcommittee Vice-Chairman Dennis Schultz. Motion was made by Schultz and seconded by Huntley to authorize the staff to spend up to \$11,000 to purchase trees for the Maple Creek Recreation Area, with a grant in the amount of \$7200 from the Nebraska Statewide Arboretum. Aye: Carlson, Hansen, Huntley, Kluthe, Loftis, Meyer, Peitzmeier, Schultz, Tighe, Wesely, Zessin. Nay: None. Absent: Anderson, Baier, Krueger, Shafer. MOTION CARRIED.

The Ad-Hoc Variance Committee report was given by Committee Chairman Joel Hansen. Motion was made by Hansen and seconded by Meyer <u>that the Lower Elkhorn NRD position at the upcoming (March 1, 2012) basin meeting is to allow up to 2,500 acres in the hydrologically connected <u>area</u>. Aye: Carlson, Hansen, Huntley, Kluthe, Loftis, Meyer, Peitzmeier, Schultz, Tighe, Wesely, Zessin. Nay: None. Absent: Anderson, Baier, Krueger, Shafer. MOTION CARRIED.</u>

Motion was made by Baier and seconded by Huntley <u>to approve Midwest Sound and Lighting</u> <u>option #2, in the amount of \$7569 for the purchase and installation of a complete microphone and</u> <u>speaker system for the board room</u>. Aye: Anderson, Baier, Hansen, Huntley, Kluthe, Meyer, Peitzmeier. Nay: Krueger, Loftis, Tighe, Wesely, Zessin. Absent: Carlson, Schultz, Shafer. MOTION CARRIED.

Motion was made by Meyer and seconded by Hansen <u>to adjourn</u>. Motion carried with all ayes. The meeting adjourned at 8:44 p.m.

I, the undersigned Secretary of the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of the proceedings had and done by the Board of Directors on February 23, 2012 that all of the subjects included in the foregoing proceedings were contained in the agenda for at least twenty-four hours prior to said meeting, the minutes of the Chairman and the Board were in written form and available for public inspection within ten working days and prior to the next convened meeting of said body, that all news media requesting notification of the time and place of said meeting and the subjects to be discussed at said meeting.

Gary Loftis, Secretary

Others Present: Kent Franzen, Wayne Tom Nathan, Meadow Grove Robin Sutherland, Pierce Sabrina Negus, Tilden Greg Wees, Norfolk Ronald Dierking, Scribner